1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Cinema Eye Honors 2012 Winners

A List of Winners of the 2012 Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Filmmaking


Cinema Eye Honors 2012 Winners

Cinema Eye Statuette

Cinema Eye Honors
The Cinema Eye Honors organizers deserve a round of applause for recognizing the year's outstanding achievement in the various arts and sciences used in documentary filmmaking. In addition to presenting awards for Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking and Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking, Cinema Eye recognizes the Best Debut Feature, plus Outstanding Achievements in Direction, Production, Editing, Cinematography, Original Music Score, Graphic Design and Animation.

These are the arts and skills essential for making nonfiction films, just as they are for narrative filmmaking. And, it is entirely laudable that they be singled out and recognized.

Additionally, Cinema Eye presents these special awards:

  • Audience Award
  • Spotlight Award -
  • Legacy Award for a classic documentary that inspires a new generation of filmmakers and embodies the Cinema Eye mission: excellence in creative and artistic achievements in nonfiction films.
  • Heterodox Award for a narrative feature that utilizes perspectives and techniques more frequently used in documentary filmmaking
  • Hell Yeah Prize, introduced this year, given to filmmakers who have created works of extraordinary craft and artistry that also have significant real-world impact.

This year's Cinema Eye Honors presentation was held on January 11 at the Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria, New York City. The event was co-hosted by Esther Robinson and AJ Schnack, who serve as Co-Chairs of Cinema Eye Honors.

Needless to say, the annual event is writ large on the documentaries community's calendar. Leading documentarians from around the world attend the ceremony to celebrate nonfiction filmmaking and their colleagues.

The 2012 Cinema Eye Winners:

  • Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking: The Interrupters - Directed by Steve James, Produced by Alex Kotlowitzand Steve James - Presented by Michael Moore
  • Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking: Diary - Directed by Tim Hetherington - Presented by Nanette Burstein and Josh Fox
  • Outstanding Achievement in Direction: Steve James - The Interrupters - Presented by Alex Gibney
  • Outstanding Achievement in Production: Pina - Produced by Gian-Piero Ringel and Wim Wenders - Presented by Peter Davis and Andrea Meditch
  • Outstanding Achievement in Editing: Senna - Edited by Gregers Sall and Chris King - Presented by Peter Davis and Andrea Meditch
  • Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Hell and Back Again - Cinematographer/Director Danfung Dennis - Presented by Kirsten Johnson and Darius Marder
  • Outstanding Achievement in an Original Music Score: Tabloid - Music by John Kusiak - Presented by Nanette Burstein and Josh Fox
  • Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design and Animation: Tabloid - Rob Feng and Jeremy Landman - Presented by Jeff Malmberg and Chris Shellen
  • Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film: The Arbor - Directed by Clio Bernard - Presented by Jeff Malmberg and Chris Shellen
  • Hell Yeah Prize: The Paradise Lost Trilogy - Directed by Joe Berlinger and Bruce Sinofsky - Presented by Jason Baldwin(one of the West Memphis 3, whose release from prison was supported by the films)
  • Legacy Award - Titicut Follies - The first feature (1967) made by Frederick Wiseman, the film is a stark, graphic revelation of conditions at the State Prison for the Criminally Insane at Bridgewater, Massachusetts - Presented by Steve James
  • Audience Choice Prize - Buck - Directed by Cindy Meehl - Presented by Robert Krulwich

The Interrupters Triumphant

For the first time in Cinema Eye's five year history, the awards for best nonfiction feature and best direction were presented to the same film: The Interrupters. To the amazement of the documentaries community, this highly acclaimed documentary was not included on this year's Oscars shortlist. In accepting the Cinema Eye trophies for The Interrupters, a delighted Steve James declared, "Tonight, I don't care about the Oscars!"

More Information About the Cinema Eye Honors

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.