1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

2012 IDA Documentary Awards


2012 IDA Documentary Awards

IDA Awards Logo

International Documentary Association

Winners of the 2013 IDA Awards

The 28th annual International Documentary Association IDA Awards ceremony was held on December 7, 2012, at the Directors Guild of America in Los Angeles. The following awards were presented:

Best Feature Award:

Winner: Searching For Sugar Man - Director/Producer/Writer: Malik Bendjelloul - Producer: Simon Chinn - Red Box Films, Sony Pictures Classics

Also Nominated:

The Central Park Five - Directors/Producers/Writers: Ken Burns, Sarah Burns, David McMahon

The Invisible War - Director/Writer: Kirby Dick

The Queen of Versailles - Director: Lauren Greenfield

Women With Cows - Director: Peter Gerdehag

Best Short Award:

Winner: Saving Face - Directors: Daniel Junge, Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy - HBO Documentary Films, Milkhaus, LLC, and JungeFilm, LLC

Also Nominated:

God is the Bigger Elvis - Director/Producer: Rebecca Cammisa

Kings Point - Director/Producer: Sari Gilman

Mondays At Racine - Director/Producer: Cynthia Wade

Open Heart - Director: Kief Davidson

Best Continuing Series Award:

Winner: American Masters - Executive Producer: Susan Lacy

Also Nominated:

Independent Lens - Executive Producer: Sally Jo Fifer

POV - Executive Producer: Simon Kilmurry

Best Limited Series Award:

Winner: On Death Row - Director/Writer: Werner Herzog - Creative Differences, Investigation Discovery

Also Nominated:

Bomb Patrol: Afghanistan - Executive Producers: Dan Cesareo, Doug DePriest, Vince DiPersio, Laura Civiello, Tim Rummel - Big Fish Entertainment for NBC/G4 Media, Inc.

George Harrison: Living In The Material World - Director/Producer: Martin Scorsese - Grove Street Pictures, Spitfire Pictures, and Sikelia Productions in association with HBO Documentary Films

Slavery: A 21st Century Evil - Directors: David Hickman, Tim Tate, Tom Phillips - Al Jazeera English

The Weight of the Nation - Executive Producers: Sheila Nevins, John Hoffman - HBO Documentary Films and the Institute of Medicine, with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the National Institutes of Health, Michael & Susan Dell Foundation and Kaiser Permanente.

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award: (For exceptional achievement in non-fiction film and video production at the university level, bringing greater public and industry awareness to the work of students in the documentary field).

Winner: La Camioneta - Director/Producer/Writer: Mark Kendall - School of Visual Arts

Also Nominated:

The A-Word - Director/Writer/Executive Producer: Lindsay Ellis - University of Southern California

Captive Radio - Director/Producer/Writier: Lauren Rosenfeld - UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism

Julian - Director/Producer/Writer: Bao Nguyen - School of Visual Arts

Meanwhile In Mamelodi - Director: Benjamin Kahlmeyer - Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg

ABC News Videosource Award: (For the best use of news footage as an integral component in a documentary).

Winner: Harvest of Empire - Directors: Peter Getzels, Eduardo López - Onyx Films, EVS Communications, Loquito Productions

Also Nominated:

Booker's Place: A Mississippi Story - Director: Raymond De Felitta

The Central Park Five - Directors/Producers/Writers: Ken Burns, Sarah Burns, David McMahon

The Family - Director/Producer/Writer: Hussein Elrazzaz

We Are Wisconsin - Director: Amie Williams

Humanitas Documentary Award: (For a film that explores the hopes and fears of human beings who are very different in culture, race, lifestyle, political loyalties and religious beliefs in order to break down the walls of ignorance which separate us).

Winner: Bitter Seeds - Director/Producer: Micha X. Peled - Teddy Bear Films

Also Nominated:

American Experience: The Amish - Director: David Belton

Call Me Kuchu - Directors/Writers: Katherine Fairfax Wright, Malika Zouhali-Worrall

Harvest of Empire - Directors: Peter Getzels, Eduardo López

The Virgin, The Copts and Me - Director/Producer/Writer: Namir Abdel Messeeh

Pare Lorentz Award: (For films that demonstrate exemplary filmmaking while focusing on the appropriate use of the natural environment, justice for all and the illumination of pressing social problems).

Winner: The Island President - Director: Jon Shenk

Creative Recognition Awards:

Best Cinematography: Women With Cows - Director/Cinematographer: Peter Gerdehag

Best Editing: Room 237 - Director/Editor: Rodney Ascher

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.