1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

IDFA International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam 2011 Awards


IDFA International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam 2011 Awards


International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam

The International Documentaries Film Festival Amsterdam (IDFA) 2011 program included six juried competition categories, each with a monetary prize attached to it. To determine the winners in each category, jurors viewed all the films selected by the festival for that area of competition, then nominated three films finalists for the prize and announced the winner at the festival's awards celebration on November 25.

2011 IDFA Award Nominees and Winners

The list of IDFA 2011 categories, winners, nominees, prizes and jurors includes:

Feature-Length Documentary:

  • Planet of Snail - Directed by Seung-Jun Yi (South Korea) - Winner
  • The Ambassador - Directed by Mads Brugger (Denmark)
  • Bad Weather - Directed by Giovanni Giommi (Germany/UK)
  • Prize: 12,500 Euros
  • Feature Length Jurors: Sandy Lieberson (consultant, USA), Dennis Lim (Journalist, USA), Suzanne Raes (Filmmaker, Netherlands), Moussa Sene Absa (Filmmaker, Senegal), Laila Pakalnina (Filmmaker, Latvia)
  • Feature Length Special Jury Award: 5 Broken Cameras - Directed by Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi (Palestine/Israel/Netherlands/France) - No monetary prize

Mid-Length Documentary:

  • Montenegro - Directed by Jorge Gaggero (Argentina) - Winner
  • Going up the Stairs - Directed by Rokhsareh Ghaem Maghami (Iran)
  • Habana Muda - Directed by Eric Brach (France)
  • Prize: 10,000 Euros
  • Jurors: David Fischer (Filmmaker, Israël), Boris Gerrets (Filmmaker, Netherlands), Maria Ramos (Filmmaker, Brazil / Netherlands), Miranda Siegel (Journalist, USA), Ben Tsiang (CE, CNEX, China)

First Appearance:

  • The Vanishing Spring Light - Directed by Xun Yu (China/Canada) - Winner
  • Ballroom Dancer - Directed by Andreas Koefoed and Christian Bonke (Denmark)
  • I Was Born in Delhi… - Directed by Bishnu Dev Halder (India)
  • Prize: 5,000 Euros
  • Jurors: Bibo Liang (Filmmaker, China), Ollie Huddleston (Editor, UK), Monster Jimenez (Filmmaker, Philippines), Margje de Koning (CE IKON, Netherlands), Basil Tsiokos (Film Consultant/Journalist, USA)

Student Documentary:

  • The Betrayal - Directed by Karen Winther (UK/Norway) - Winner
  • If It Weren't for You (the Netherlands) - Directed by Anne-Marieke Graafmans (Netherlands)
  • Tilman in Paradise - Directed by Julian Vogel (Germany)
  • Prize: 2,500 Euros
  • Jurors: Stella Bruzzi (Film theorist, UK), Eva Küpper (Filmmaker, Belgium), Willem-Jan Otten (Writer, Netherlands)

Dutch Documentary:

  • 900 Days - Directed by Jessica Gorter - Winner
  • Jerome Jerome Directed by Petra Lataster-Czisch and Peter Lataster
  • Stories from Lakka Beach - Directed by Daan Veldhuizen
  • Prize: 5,000 Euros
  • Jurors: Luciano Barisone (Director Visions du Reel, Nyon, Italy), Hans Robert Eisenhauer (ex CE, Germany), Aliona van der Horst (Filmmaker, Netherlands), Annemarie Kürstein (Festival Manager, Shorts & Documentaries DFI, Denmark), Orwa Nyrabia (Producer, Syria)

Green Screen Documentary:

  • Bitter Seeds - Directed by Micha X. Peled (US/India) - Winner
  • Raising Resistance - Directed by Betina Borgfeld and David Bernet (Germany/Switzerland)
  • Semper Fi: Always Faithful - Directed by Rachel Libert and Tony Hardmon (US)
  • Prize: 2,500
  • Jurors: Joe Berlinger (Filmmaker, USA), Cath Le Couteur (Shooting People, UK), Michael Madsen (Filmmaker, Denmark), Maartje Somers (Journalist, Netherlands)

IDFA PLAY Competition for Music Documentary (winner announced November 23, 2011):

  • Last Days Here - Directed by Don Argott and Demian Fenton (USA) - Winner
  • Kyteman. Now What? - Directed by Menna Laura Meijer (Netherlands)
  • When The Drum Is Beating - Directed by Whitney Dow (USA)
  • Prize: 2,500 Euros
  • Jurors: Lotje Ijzermans (Journalist, Netherlands), Rodrigo Letier (Producer, Brasil), James Mottram (Sight & Sound, UK), Zjakki Willems (Radio, Belgium), Miriam Brenner (Programmer Music Meeting Nijmegen, Netherlands)

Additional IDFA 2011 Awards

In additional to its major competition awards, IDFA presents additional monetary prizes in the following categories:

Audience Award:

  • 5 Broken Cameras - Directed by Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi (Palestine/Israel/Netherlands/France) - Prize: 5,000 Euros)


  • The Last Days of Winter - Directed by Mehrdad Oskouei (Iran) - winner
  • Koran by Heart - Directed by Greg Barker (USA-UK)
  • To Be Heard - Directed by Edwin Martinez, Roland Legiardi-Laura, Deborah Shaffer and Amy Sultan (USA)
  • Prize: 1,500 Euros, awarded by an independent youth jury

IDFA DocLab Award for Digital Storytelling:

  • Insitu - Directed by Antoine Viviani (France) - Winner
  • Barcode.tv - Directed by Philippe Archontakis and Pascal Brouard (Canada/France)
  • Beyond 9/11 - Directed by Kira Pollack (USA)
  • Prize: 2,500 Euros - Jurors: Ingrid Kopp (Tribeca Film Institute, USA), Martijn de Waal (Media-innovator, Netherlands), Rob McLaughlin (Editor-In-Chief and Deputy Publisher, Canada)

IDFA Forum Prizes For Best Pitch

IDFA's Forum is one of the most important arenas in which filmmakers can present their projects-in-development to a gathering of commissioning editors from broadcast companies, foundations and other production funders from around the world. The moderated and strictly timed pitches consist of an introduction by a supporting broadcaster, a synopsis by the filmmakers and the screening of a teaser or demo reel, which is then followed by responses, questions and suggestions from potential funders. There are two pitch categories, and each presents a prize for best prize, with winners selected by IDFA Forum guests. These are not official IDFA prizes, per se, but any project that attracts this kind of support has great propsects for completion and distribution. For 2011, the winners were:

The Central Pitch:

  • Tea Time - Directed by Maite Aberdi, Produced by Clara Taricco (Chile)

The Roundtable Pitch:

  • The Manor - Directed by Shawney Cohen, Produced by Paul Scherzer (Canada), Executive Produced by Laurie Gwen Shapiro (USA)

If You Find This Article of Interest, You May Also Be Interested In:

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.