1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Discuss in my forum

Jennifer Merin

International Documentary Association Awards for 2010

By December 4, 2010

Follow me on:

The International Documentary Association's 2010 IDA Documentary Awards were presented on December 3, 2010, at the Directors Guild Theater in Beverly Hills, California. The winners are:

  • Waste Land, directed by Lucy Walker, received both the IDA Pare Lorentz Award and the IDA Award for Best Documentary Feature. Waste Land follows NY-based artist Vik Muniz to his home town of Rio de Janiero, where he works with garbage pickers to create art that transorms their lifes.
    Queen of the Sun: What are the Bees Telling Us?, directed by Taggart Siegel and Jon Betz, was given Honorable Mention in the IDA Best Documentary Feature category.
  • For Once In My Life, directed by Jim Bigham and Mark Moorman, won The IDA Music Documentary Award. The film focuses on musicians with a range of physical and mental disabilities.
  • Bhutto, directed by Duane Baughman and Johnny O'Hara, won the IDA ABCNews VideoSource Award. The film profiles the first woman to become president of a Muslim nation.
  • The Oath, directed by Laura Poitras, and Presumed Guilty, directed by Roberto Hernández and Geoffrey Smith, tied for the 2010 IDA Humanitas Award. The Oath follows two men whose encounters with Osama bin Laden and 9/11 lead to very different outcomes, and Presumed Guilty follows two young Mexican attorneys as they seek to exonerate a wrongly convicted man by making a documentary film about his case and cause.

The Distinguished Short Film Award was presented to Kiran Deol's Woman Rebel, which follows Uma Bhujel, a soldier and women's rights advocate whose career spanned an officer's commission in the Maoist Nepal's People's Liberation Army to a post as a democratically elected government official.

In IDA's Series Award Categories, the Distinguished Continuing Series Award went to 30 for 30, ESPN's documentary series about thirty stories from ESPN's 30-year history. The Distinguished Limited Series Award went to Connie Field for her extraordinary seven-film series, Have You Heard from Johannesburg?, documenting the global effort to end apartheid in South Africa.

Additionally, IDA presented its Career Achievement Award to director Barbara Kopple, its Pioneer Award to Alan Raymond & Susan Raymond, and its Preservation and Scholarship Award to Mark Jonathan Harris.


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.