1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Discuss in my forum

Jennifer Merin

Cinema Eye Awards 2010 Nominees Announced

By November 6, 2009

Follow me on:

Nominees for the 2010 Cinema Eye Awards were announced on November 5 by at the Sheffield Documentaries Festival in the U.K.

Introduced in 2008, the Cinema Eye Awards are unique in recognizing excellence in artistic achievements in nonfiction filmmaking in categories including cinematography, editing, music, graphics and animation, as well as outstanding achievement in filmmaking and direction, production and other disciplines.

The Cinema Eye nominating committee is comprised of film festival and film society programmers. This year, committee members included Meira Blaustein (Woodstock Film Festival), Heather Croall (Sheffield Documentaries Festival), Sean Farnel (Hot Docs), Ben Fowlie (Camden), Tom Hall (Sarasota/Newport), Doug Jones (Los Angeles), David Kwok (Tribeca), Caroline Libresco (Sundance), Janet Pierson (SXSW), Thom Powers (Toronto International Film Festival), Rachel Rosen (San Francisco Film Society), Sky Sitney (Silverdocs), Sadie Tillery (Full Frame) and David Wilson (True/False). 98 films were eligible for consideration.

Leading the nominations in number, The Cove is nominated for seven awards, including Outstanding Achievement for Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking, Cinematography, Production, Editing, Original Musical Score, Debut Feature Film and Audience Choice.

Also nominated for Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking are Burma VJ, Food, Inc, Loot and October Country.

A new category, the Spotlight Award, is intended to honor films that have yet to receive the recognition they deserve -- but, unfortunately, the majority of films on the complete list of nominees have not been widely seen in the U.S. Obviously, the Cinema Eye Honors do raise awareness about the films and increase their chances for wider distribution.

The Cinema Eye Awards will be presented on January 15, 2010 at the Times Center in New York City, with the sponsorship of IndiePix

(PHOTO: Cinema Eye Awards Statuette. Courtesy Cinema Eye Honors).


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.